We are England

Thursday 16th June 2016 Today is one of much sadness and despair.

I dedicate this humble jumble of words to the memory of Jo Cox MP, a good person.

_________________________________________________________________

“My love of country is not measured by threat or harm of others;
Today I am English but honour my forebears from Merthyr Tydfil, Limerick and beyond.

My patriotism is my love of our art, music and custom;
Taking pride in our endeavours and owning responsibility where our flag has done wrong.

My family and nation is not blood but the land wetted by sweat and tears;
All who seek refuge, opportunity and the will to build are welcome here.

We are England.”

Dean Reeves

may day pole

Leave a Reply

