“I choose” by Dean Reeves

32010732_05bfe8eba7

Many may fly your colours,

And rejoin your unknown song.

I do not blindly take to dance,

But listen to the motif of your intent.

*

Though values hardened within my marrow,

My mind is opened for challenge and persuasion.

My heart is willing for favour, 

And I challenge you to chase!

*

Know that others do not choose for me,

What they believe, or might perhaps.

My only certain choice is free,

For my self, and my philosophies.

*

I will not vote for you

Because I do not favour others.

Nor take counsel from people

Who I neither respect or trust.

*

Imagined beasts and unseen villains,

Provocation, and shadowed enterprises?

Leadership to inspire and lift,

Which leads and does not need me.

*

Not through design or fateful time,

Send a threat of restless days.

It is for you alone to lead as a King,

Or in failure bow forlorn.

*

I choose for me.

Leave a Reply

